Gingerbread Cookies or Pepparkakor| #cookies vol.3

This year I am spending Christmas with my Beloved one and his family. As I was debating with myself on what to bring, I immediately thought of cookies. The best choice would most certainly have been the Kenga Chocolate cookies, because I have been making these for 6 years and there is not a single person on Earth, who doesn’t fall inlove with them from the first bite. However, I somehow wanted to have something more Christmas-y, so I thought of Gingerbread cookies. I have already tried these as well and have a proven recipe which I am going to share now.

Now, here are my thoughts on how the three different types of cookies I have mentioned on this blog compare to each other.
Kenga’s chocolate cookies are a total winner. They have a really nice well-rounded taste – there is chocolate, but it is not overwhelming or too sweet. They also have a nice crunch to them thanks to the hazelnuts and the oats.
The Orange Chocolate Cookies I love as well. Their consistency, however, is slightly chewy and I can imagine that not everyone will be a fan. Main advantages: Citrus-y taste and hell of a quick prep time. I mean quick as in one-pan-and-10-minutes quick.
And the Gingerbread cookies are the most special type I would say. They are more like a biscuit really. The perfect one to dip in your coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Or mulled wine. I loved mulled wine. A complete no-go for someone who doesn’t like ginger – and yes, apparently those sad souls exist.
Gingerbread cookies are also the type you could most easily decorate and make pretty for Christmas. I, however, hate the typical mixture of water and sugar and I find it ruins the taste of perfectly good cookies. Or muffins for that matter.
And a tiny little disadvantage – this dough needs to spend one night in the fridge, but you most likely already have all the ingredients in your home so you can start immediately.

With that being sad, let’s get down to business, shall we?

To make 4 batches of 27-28 cookies you’ll need:
75 gr honey
1 egg
150 gr brown sugar
330 gr flour
1-2 tsp dry ginger (I should try replacing it with a grated fresh root, but until then I can’t give you any guidance on quantity.)
1 tsp clove or/and 1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp sodium bicarbonate/baking soda
1 tsp baking powder

How to make:

Note: This yeart I mixed butter, honey and sugar using the double boiler method. Then I waited for it to cool down and added the egg, followed by the flour mixture. However, I didn’t feel that this delivered any additional taste benefits, thus I recommend you to follow the steps bellow as I did the first time when I prepared gingerbread cookies.

  1. Mix the egg, sugar and honey. No need to use a mixer. Add spices and melted butter.
  2. Stir in the flour, baking soda and baking powder.
  3. Take the dough onto the kitchen counter and add a little bit more flour until it is not sticky anymore. Don’t overdo it. Remember, this is not bread, so you should not thread the dough the old fashioned way. This step only takes 3-4 minutes.
  4. Divide the dough in three portion, wrap each in plastic foil and leave them in the fridge overnight.
  5. On the next day, roll out the dough thinly (using an empty wine bottle was a great idea!) and cut out cookies using a cutter. Put the rest of the dough back in the fridge and go back to using it after it is chilled again. You can put quite a lot in one batch since they don’t need place to spread.

    ginger-34

    ginger-21

  6. Bake for 8 minutes on 170° with a fan. Be careful, you may need to adjust this depending on your oven. These cookies can burn in 2 minutes.

    ginger-49
    (Last year’s cookies. You can clearly see how baking time affects the colour.)

You can decorate the cookies but I skipped that step since I hate the way glaze tastes.
To make these more presentable, I used a straw to cut out little holes pre-bake and then, after they have already cooled down, I used a ribbon to create bows. It turned out pretty nice, don’t you think?

15748946_1666392776720173_1657540224_o-1
(Kenga’s Chocolate Cookies on the right side.)

Merry Christmas!
Love,
Innah.

Leave a Reply

