5 Real life weeknight dinner recipes

Hello, guys.
This post will be the first of many, where I’ll be showing you real life food. What I mean by this, is normal pictures shot with my phone for 10 seconds of meals which I’d prepare on a daily basis.

In other words, here are 5 recipes which are:
#quick. Check. Even if they need a little bit of time to get done, they don’t need you which means you could invest thosе 20 or 40 minutes in fixing something else around the house and make some free time for after dinner to chill on the couch.

#easy. Check. It’s all about having the right ingredients, I always keep certain things in my pantry and in my the fridge to help me when I need to whip up a meal. Would you be interested to know more?

#homecooked. Well, check. Obviously.

#healthy. More or less. Check.

#delicious. You bet.

Are you looking for something simple with a little twist? Or for a warm and cozy soup? Or for a delicious vegan meal? No matter what are you searching for, I got you covered!

With that being said, here are 5 recipes for real life dinners with real life pictures.

13081691_1377359822290138_2002746824_n1


Meal 1: Chicken breast with a honey-mustard-garlic sauce + baked zucchini + sweet potato fries
Recipe for Honey Dijon Garlic Chicken
I am still in the process of mastering the art of sweet potato fries, so I won’t share a recipe for them right now, there are plenty of them online.
The baked zucchini are really easy to make – spices, olive oil, bake until golden 🙂

Meal 2: Simple salad with chicken breast
There isn’t a real recipe for this meal. I just put together greens, cucumbers, red bell pepper and corn. Before that I cut some chicken breasts into pieces and marinated in soy sauce and Thai spices for 20 minutes. After that I stir fried them in the pan and that’s it.

Meal 3: Ginger Beef, Mushroom and Spinach Stir Fry
Here is the original recipe, from which I used a picture for the heading. It looks so juicy and delicious, doesn’t it?? I substituted kale with spinach and I only used the traditional kind of mushrooms. It turned out reallyyy good! I thought I can’t stand spinach when it’s cooked but after this meal, I am eager to try more recipes with it!

Meal 4: Red lentil coconut curry + rice
This is an amazing meal – it’s warm and cozy, suuuper delicious. And it’s vegan!! I strongly recommend for everyone to try this. If you are one of those people who just can’t imagine giving up meat – calm down. No one is asking you to. I am just asking you to give this meal a chance, you won’t be disappointed.
There are many recipes out there, the one I used is in German, so here is the quick translation: fry onion and garlic, stir in spices (thai curry, regular curry, chili flakes, black pepper) and 175 gr red lentils, add canned tomatoes (I use the ones that are already cut in pieces), 1 can coconut milk and 300-400 ml. vegetable stock. Bring it to a boil and let it simmer for 40 minutes or until the lentils are completely soft 🙂 That should be enough for 2-3 people. Serve by itself or with rice.
Guys, that’s really tasty and really easy to make, you need to try it!

Meal 5: Cream potatoe soup with mushrooms
Boil potatoes with some vegetable stock (You can add a carrot or red bell pepper, too).
In the mean time, stir fry some mushrooms with butter. Puree the potatoes when they’re done, together with some heavy cream, stir in the mushrooms and bring the soup to a boil again. Done 🙂
I’d serve the soup with some oven roasted chickpeas 🙂

That’s all for today, comment below if you tried one of these recipes (give the red lentil curry a shot! :P)

Innah

Leave a Reply

